top of page

Welcome to Wonderland


About a week ago I asked my boyfriend for some podcast recommendations. This may not sound like a big deal, but - truth be told - I've never been interested in podcasts. I recognised their entertainment value (especially when commuting places) but I hadn't bothered discovering for myself whether I could share in their value. As you may or may not know, I started a new job in September, and with that came the use of public transport as a means of getting to and from work. I'd resolved early on that I didn't need podcasts when I had my silly Farmville-like games and social media to entertain me. For awhile that was suitable enough, until looking at an iPad screen in a moving vehicle started giving me headaches.

Most annoying, I tell you.

When I asked Sheldon for recommendations, he replied without hesitation: "Imaginary Worlds." He did list a few others, but the title of this one grabbed my interest. So I downloaded the latest episode on my way to work on Monday. Creator Eric Molinsky was talking with university professor Elisabeth Gumnior and a couple of other guests about The Sorting Hat in Harry Potter. Now - and don't set fire to my house or anything please - I'm not a mega HP fan. I didn't read the books or see the movies until many many years after they were released, and I suppose, subsequently, I lost the 'magic' only youth can obtain in reading the series.

You can imagine how surprised I felt then when I listened to this podcast and I liked the way they were analysing the hat and the social constructs around being placed in the four houses. I won't spoil it for you because I think you need to check it out yourself (here's a link to Eric's website) but what a marvellous thing I had just discovered. I could indulge in an entire podcast during my trip to work. I could learn things AND I wouldn't get a headache. What was this madness and why hadn't I bothered to check it out sooner?!

Thus my new obsession has been born. I've already listened to ten Imaginary Worlds episodes and today I found out my friend and fellow writer Melissa Girimonte (not to mention the plethora of other cool, inspirational and creative things she is and does besides writing) has her OWN podcast channel called Fem TV. Perhaps you can envision my excitement as I feverishly jabbed at my screen in an effort to download the pilot episode. I inhaled the episode's contents as I might inhale air during a morning run (or panting fest, in my experience). She was talking with screenwriter Alix Sternberg, who I hadn't heard of but already decided I liked when Mel said she's been working on the "Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life" revival. I automatically adore anyone who works, lives, breathes or associates themselves with that show in any way, shape or form. Because, Gilmore Girls. Duh.

Anyway!

I guess the biggest eye-opener for me this week has been how much I'm loving learning again. I'd forgotten the worth in listening to other people's experiences and how that might shape or encourage your own career path. I know I've been struggling to find meaning in my writing, and I think maybe - just maybe - this is the 'Drink Me' juice I need to grow into my creative self once more. Hearing other people's trials and tests and advice as they've navigated their own worlds might be my ticket to Wonderland. A place I can go where fear is pushed to the ground and only joy remains. And let's face it - who wouldn't want to go there?

Stay tuned my friends. I have a good feeling about this.


bottom of page